Is NBC Running on Half Truths about the Daytona 500?

Racing Junky‘s Tiffany Myers has posted a very interesting and intelligently written review and commentary of what she saw at the Daytona 500.
My Sister in-law was at the race and said the same thing. Matt Kenseth is her Driver and she freaking HATES Tony. She says one of her great goals in life is to have a Tony bashing website. After she got home and watched the race broadcast she had Tivo’d, she felt it was incredibly biased. She said couldn’t believe it. She said it made her so mad she wrote to them and she never does things like that. She said she will doubt every scene and comment regarding NASCAR ever broadcast by NBC again. Pretty strong words from someone who doesn’t get riled up about much of anything except Tony Stewart and people who are mean to animals and children.

I am anxious to hear from Antonette @ Unrestricted: My NASCAR Rants and Raves and Earnhardt Fan Always 3 when she gets back.
I am sure she will be posting her take on this. She always calls it like she sees it.
I don’t usually jump on something like this but…I have to wonder.

13 Comments

  1. I just read Tiffany’s piece.

    I won’t dispute what she saw, I wasn’t there. But I think she has let her “Smoke Fandom” get the better of her.

    She has accused NBC of bias because they never aired the Harvick/Stewart incident that preceded the “final episode.”

    How does she know it was caught on tape? Without proof positive it’s on tape she has no basis to make the charge. Also consider the weather problems that day. In car cameras were not fully utilized because of the weather ceiling imposed on the Helo. Was the incident only on an in car camera?

    There are too many variables as to why a replay was never shown. To jump on the “bias bandwagon” is way over the top. As as she points out she’s a journalism major, she should know better.

    As dusty as my memory is at times, whether NASCAR or other sports, everything isn’t caught on tape to be replayed and it has happened countless times and will again.

    And BTW, calm down your Sister-in-Law, she’s taking a “sport” way too seriously as well.

  2. Harvick/Stewart? What the heck else did I miss that NBC didn’t show?????

  3. They said the on board cameras were not working because of the weather… but yet, apparently Tony’s was working long enough so they could show him move his camera? The media is always biased.
    Jr. said they should have showed the Kenseth/Stewart thing from his on board camera, but yet, they didn’t. Wonder what it looked like?

  4. I just find it interesting no matter which side of the board your on….

  5. They said the on board cameras were not working because of the weather… but yet, apparently Tony’s was working long enough so they could show him move his camera? The media is always biased.
    Jr. said they should have showed the Kenseth/Stewart thing from his on board camera, but yet, they didn’t. Wonder what it looked like?

    Does that statement make sense? Both I and NBC said the in car’s were only partially available. The incident could be on tape, it could have been missed. They were available based on the weather that changed minute to minute. If you’ll recall a number of times the image cut out during some that were provided.

    No one knows except those in NBC’s production truck and Dale Jr, wouldn’t have a clue looking at the “pointy end” of it so you can discount his little nonsense right off the bat.

    Tiffany needs to also look up the journalistic definition of “yellow journalism” it’s far from being biased on a subject.

    For the record I’m far from an NBC apologist, they made my NASCAR Cesspool on more than a few occasions last year and will agains in ’06 but t won’t be over this “incident.”

    Sometime within the next few hours I’ll throw up a post in rebuttal to her “editorial/rant” Considering they provide no email addy to the authors over there it’s the only recourse.

  6. NBC sucks! I was using NASCAR incar camera, and saw stuff happen not only before NBC showed it but sstuff on the track they didn’t even show. NBC is like Sir Chadwick, they bite!

  7. i enjoyed the action and with help of babs and and google i will start supporting my 3 favorite dog owners.

    earnhart, biffle and newman. i think i like biffle the best but i’m not crazy about fords so this is work in progress.

    ric flair is from stock car country, maybe he can retire from rasslin and become the oldest stock car racer in history.

  8. **Leo you are so funny!
    We must not forget Tony’s little chee-wa-wa. What’s her name? Natalie or something. The old girlfreind has custody of Mojo so I don’t know if he counts much anymore.

  9. I know other people who were there and saw Matt hit Stewart. Vix, a regular poster on the NASCAR.com boards, is one, my boss at work is another. They all reported the same thing Tifany did, and since Vixen lives in FLA, and my boss lives in Colorado, I don’t think they coraborrated(Is that a word?) on the story.Thanks for posting the link to that article.

  10. Marc sure seems to think he knows everything, doesn’t he?
    All I’m saying is the cameras can’t show us everything that happens at the track.
    Kenseth is my driver and I was pissed at what Tony did. But I am willing to see both sides of the argument.
    You sir, are close-minded. Thanks for bashing me for having an open mind. Now piss off and leave me out of your diatribes.

  11. Onward Pilgrims!!
    Westward HO!!

  12. That’s racing!!! Next race please!!!!

  13. My Rants and Raves are up! Thanks gf for the shoutout…you rock!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

